minutesofhoney

Poem Tuesday

In Poetry on February 7, 2012 at 3:07 pm

In an effort to instill regular readership, one must offer regular reading material.  So!  Welcome to my word-home, far-flung friends.  Poetry Tuesdays is now…a thing!  And just like we were holding hands above the alter, I promise to think thoughts and write them down.  Come wrapping round my door these winter nights.  I’ll put on jazz records and your boots’ll sog the corner; we’ll share that blanket! and Barry’s tea will warm our hands.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Wait

I am sore with the wait.
My gums itch and I ply
myself out from another day
of the night
of the morning
of waking up
alone
passing love around my teeth
like a stone
too smooth to swallow
too hard to eat.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Refill?  Next week, same time, same place?

  1. Please do. I Will meet you here.

Leave a Reply

